We’ve tried it for you… the visit of a plantation in Louisiana

If you travel to Louisiana, in the “deep South” of the United States, I recommend the visit of a plantation, especially Laura’s plantation, located approximately an hour away, West of New Orleans.

Plantations – and slavery – are key elements of Louisiana’s and the South of the United States’ History. Laura’s Plantation gives an overview of the daily life in a plantation and shows how the local society was socially and economically organized in that time.

Laura’s plantation has a specific history among the ten plantations currently open to the public: it has been essentially managed by women, during four generations, between 1804 and 1891. First is Nanette who, contrary to the customs of her time, decided to transfer her plantation to her youngest daughter rather than to her two sons. Later on come Aimée and Emile (the only man of the family to have partly managed the family company), and finally Laura – after whom the plantation is named.

The (compulsory) guided tour takes visitors through the history of the family, with, in the background, the History of Louisiana and the US, from colonial society to slavery abolition, through the strong minded women of the family, the evolution of women’s role in society.

The last part of the visit takes place in slaves’ cabins and doesn’t silence the terrible treatment those women and men suffered. Women and girls were often raped by their “owners”. Their “illegitimate” children despite being the daughters and sons of the plantation owners were slaves.

Practical information:

2247 road LA 18, Vacherie, Louisiana – about 1h drive from New Orleans (if you don’t have a car, some companies offer visits starting from New Orleans)

Tours every day, between 10:00 am to 4:00 pm in English and in French. Hours here. Tours last 1 hour and 15 minutes approximately.

Prices: 20$ (6$ for kids of 6 to 17 years old)

A lire aussi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On a testé pour vous… la visite d’une plantation en Louisiane

Si vous partez en Louisiane, dans le « Sud profond » des Etats-Unis, je vous conseille d’aller visiter une plantation, et en particulier la Laura Plantation, située à environ 1h à l’ouest de la Nouvelle-Orléans.

Les plantations – et l’esclavage – sont un aspect incontournable de l’Histoire de la Louisiane et du Sud des Etats-Unis. La Laura Plantation donne un aperçu de la vie d’une plantation et de l’organisation sociale et économique de la société locale de l’époque.

Parmi la dizaine de plantations ouvertes au public, Laura a une histoire particulière : elle a été essentiellement dirigée par des femmes, sur quatre générations, entre 1804 et 1891. D’abord Nanette, qui contrairement aux traditions de l’époque préfère sa plus jeune fille à ses deux fils pour lui succéder à la tête de la plantation. C’est ensuite Aimée et Emile (seul homme de la famille à avoir en partie dirigé l’entreprise familiale!), et enfin Laura – d’où le nom de la plantation.

La visite guidée (obligatoire, pas de visite libre) retrace l’histoire de la famille, avec en arrière-plan, l’Histoire de la Louisiane et des Etats-Unis, de la société coloniale à l’abolition de l’esclavage, et en creux, à travers les femmes à fort caractère de la famille, l’évolution de la place des femmes.

La dernière partie de la visite se passe dans les cabanes des esclaves, et ne passe pas sous silence le statut et les conditions de vie de ces hommes et femmes, considérés comme du bétail. Ni le fait que femmes et filles esclaves se retrouvaient souvent mères d’enfants illégitimes de leurs maîtres.

Infos pratiques :

2247 route LA 18, Vacherie, Louisiane – 1h environ en voiture de la Nouvelle-Orléans (si vous n’avez pas de voiture, des entreprises proposent des visites avec départ depuis la Nouvelle-Orléans)

Plusieurs visites par jour, entre 10h et 16h, en anglais et en français. Horaires ici. La visite dure 1h15 environ.

Tarifs : 20 dollars (6 dollars pour les enfants de 6 à 17 ans)

 

Photo : Farratgutful, en licence créative commons CC BY-SA 3.0

A lire aussi

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *