The women’s museum of Longueil, in Québec

Montreal doesn’t have a women’s museum, so I went to Longueil, a suburb in the south of Montreal. Don’t let its basic little bungalow appearance fool you, visiting this museum is an uncommon experience.

I advise you to call before your visit. You might be lucky enough to be greeted by Lydie Olga Ntap, the museum’s founder and both a lawyer and a museologist. Lydie Olga Ntap is a well of information not only about her museum but also about other women’s museum around the world: she’s vice-president of the International Association of Women’s Museums (IAWM).

And maybe, just like I did, you’ll end spending over 4 hours at the museum.

Lydie Olga Ntap will tell you how each detail, each object has thought as trigger to spark conversation, because “far too many women in far too many countries speak the same language: silence”.

20170706_135610

The choice of Longueil as a site for the museum is both surprising and relevant. Indeed, the suburb was a fertile ground for spontaneous meetings between women from the same neighborhood, women who had confined lives. “The revolution starts in the suburbs”, Lydie Olga Ntap comments.

The museum takes you into the History of women in Quebec, as well as their daily and intimate lives.

You will enter through a kitchen door, “the only space that was designed for women”, says Lydie Olga Ntap. Women were surrounded by alienating objects, constant reminders of their role within the home. And yet, this gendered space is also a convivial and a communication space, a place of resistance.

In your journey through the History of the Quebecoises, you’ll enter their daily spaces, rooms which seem common, familiar but, with the museum’s explanations, turn into surprisingly subversive places.

This little post-war house, with its retro furniture and decoration, is actually an amazing laboratory where women reinvented objects of their daily life and plotted their soon-to-be-won freedom.

At the end of the visit, you can meet some museum’s volunteers and talk about your impressions over a cup of coffee and a freshly baked pudding.

If you want to continue your experience, the museum gives out books for free, from a large selection of feminist books.


The museum has been open for nearly ten years, run by volunteers and managed on her own by its founder, without any subventions. Auto-financed, the museum offers a permanent collection and temporary exhibitions, and organizes training, animations and events.
A funding campaign is currently online, titled “I’m a woman and I am from here”, to raise funds to help the museum develop its projects and its regular operations.

I came back with arms and head full. The warm welcome of the museum’s volunteers will make your experience very unique and memorable.

20170706_145722

 

Practical information:

The museum is free and open to public the Thursday from 10:00 am

The women’s museum of Longueil;
Website: http://museedelafemme.qc.ca
Address : 2380, boulevard Roland-Therrien,
Longueuil, Québec, J4L 1V9
Tél : 450.748.1600
Email : infos@museedelafemme.qc.ca

Note: Even if Longueil is served by the STM (Montreal’s Public Transport Network), it has its own transportation system as well. At the Longueil-University-of-Sherbrook station, you can take the 410, 417 or 76 bus lines.

A lire aussi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Au Québec, le musée de la femme de Longueuil

Montréal n’a pas de musée des femmes, je me suis donc rendue à Longueuil, dans la banlieue sud de Montréal. Ne vous fiez pas à son apparence de petit bungalow classique, visiter ce musée est une expérience qui n’a rien de banale.

Je vous conseille d’appeler avant la visite. Vous aurez alors peut-être la chance d’être reçu-e-s par Lydie Olga Ntap, la fondatrice du musée, qui est avocate et muséologue. Lydie Olga Ntap sait parler de son musée, mais aussi des autres musées de femmes dans le monde, puisqu’elle est aussi la Vice-Présidente de l’International Association of Women’s Museums (IAWM).

Et peut-être que comme moi, vous arriverez vers 11h pour repartir après 15h..

Vous écouterez Lydie Olga Ntap vous raconter comment chaque détail, chaque objet a été pensé comme déclencheur de la parole, parce que « Bien trop de femmes dans bien trop de pays parlent la même langue : le silence ».

20170706_135610

Le choix de Longueuil est aussi étonnant que pertinent. En effet, la banlieue facilitait les rencontres spontanées entre voisines, entre des femmes qui vivaient confinées : « La révolution commence en banlieue », remarque Lydie Olga Ntap.

Le musée est une plongée dans l’Histoire des femmes québécoises mais aussi dans leur intimité et leur vie quotidienne.

Vous entrerez par la porte de la cuisine, « le seul espace pensé pour les femmes », selon Lydie Olga Ntap. Les femmes y étaient entourées d’objets aliénants, qui les renvoyaient à leur rôle au foyer. Et pourtant, cet espace sexué est aussi un espace de convivialité et de communication, un espace de résistance.

Le reste du parcours suivra l’histoire des Québécoises, vous pénétrerez dans leurs espaces quotidiens, des pièces qui semblent anodines, familières, mais qui, avec les explications des guides, vous sembleront étonnamment subversives.

20170706_145331-1

Cette petite maison d’après-guerre, avec son mobilier et sa décoration rétro, est en réalité un formidable laboratoire d’expérimentations pour les femmes qui pouvaient y détourner les objets du quotidien et fomenter leur libération prochaine.

A la fin du parcours, vous pourrez retrouver les bénévoles du musée et discuter de vos impressions autour d’un café et d’un excellent pouding chômeur sorti du four.

Pour poursuivre vos réflexions et les enrichir, le musée donne gratuitement des livres que vous pourrez choisir parmi une très large sélection de livres féministes.

Le musée est ouvert depuis presque 10 ans, c’est un projet porté à bout de bras par sa fondatrice, sans subventions des collectivités, et qui repose uniquement sur du bénévolat. Le musée fonctionne en autonomie financière. Il propose des expositions permanentes et temporaires, ainsi que des formations, des animations, des événements. Une campagne de financement est actuellement en ligne, intitulée « Je suis une femme et je suis d’ici », afin de récolter des fonds qui pourront permettre au musée de poursuivre ses projets et l’aider dans son fonctionnement.

Je suis rentrée les bras remplis et la tête bien pleine. L’accueil chaleureux des bénévoles de ce musée rendra votre expérience vraiment unique et mémorable.

20170706_145722

Informations pratiques :

Le musée est gratuit et ouvert au public le jeudi à partir de 10h.

Le musée de la femme de Longueuil
Site : http://museedelafemme.qc.ca
Adresse : 2380, boulevard Roland-Therrien,
Longueuil, Québec, J4L 1V9
Tél : 450.748.1600
Courriel : infos@museedelafemme.qc.ca

Note : Il faut savoir que si Longueuil est desservi par la STM (la Société de transport de Montréal), la ville a aussi son propre réseau de transport. A la station Longueuil-Université-de-Sherbrooke, vous pouvez prendre les autobus 410, 417 ou 76.

 

A lire aussi

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *