Hidden stars of Alabama: the Gee’s Bend Quilters

Nested in a crook of the river Alabama, pretty much in the middle of nowhere, Gee’s Bend definitely isn’t a touristic destination. A few houses scattered around, not a store in sight, barely any phone service… Yet every now and then, a car from out of state stops in front of an unnamed wooden building, on county road 29.
That’s exactly what I do, with a friend of mine, on a February morning, after a long drive. We’re both really excited to be here: we’re about to enter the heart of traditional African-American quilt-making.

Miss Nancy and some of her creations.

Inside, the room is unpretentious, quilts are loosely folded on plastic tables and shelves. We’re greeted by meet “Miss Nancy” and “Miss Emma”, namely Nancy Pettway and Emma Pettway. They’re both members of the Gee’s Bend Quilters Collective. Quilt-making is the craft of sewing together old clothes and fabrics, to recycle them into useful and beautiful household items, like blankets.

In this small community, women have been making quilts for over a century, in a tradition passed down through generations. Each quilt is unique, and each quilter has her own style. With much humor and a humbling simplicity, Miss Nancy and Miss Emma tell us about their lives, quilting, family, and having their craft and tradition recognized as art.

Isolated, deep in rural, poverty-ridden Alabama, Gee’s Bend has long been ignored by the rest of the country. Most of its inhabitants are descendants of slaves from the local Pettway plantation (many quilters, like Miss Nancy and Miss Emma, still share that name). Here, the poverty rate is about 60%.

Miss Emma, and one of her famous “Pig in the Pen” design. This one sold the day we visited ($1,500)/

But in 2002, “discovered” by an art collector, their quilts gained international recognition. They’ve been called some of the “most miraculous works of modern art America” by the New York Times. Quilts from Gee’s Bend now hang in some of the most famous and prestigious museums in the US.

But here, as we chat lightly with these two women artists, my friend and I go around the room, unfolding one beautiful quilt after another. It’s a most precious and unsettling feeling to be able to touch them like it was nothing!
Some are true masterpieces. Each is signed and has a hand-written label with its title, year, creator’s name and price. Prices range from $200 to over $15,000, and are decided by the quilter herself. 75% of it goes to the quilter, the rest to the collective.

Now, I know Gee’s Bend is a bit out of the way from just about anywhere, but if you’re ever in that area, don’t pass on this amazing opportunity to meet the world-class artists, incredible, lively, fun women of the Gee’s Bend Quilters Collective.

 

Get one step closer:

Keep going

This article is based on an extract of our next feminist travel guide, covering the US.

Want to read more? We need your help to publish it!

A lire aussi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Alabama : à la rencontre des créatrices de « quilts » de Gee’s Bend

Niché dans un méandre de la rivière Alabama, au beau milieu de nulle part, Gee’s Bend n’est clairement pas une destination touristique. Quelques maisons disséminées le long de la route, pas un magasin en vue, un réseau téléphonique aux abonnés absents… Et pourtant, de temps en temps, une voiture visiblement pas de la région, vient se garer devant un bâtiment anonyme, au bord de la petite route 29.
C’est exactement ce que nous faisons, avec une amie, un matin de février, après plusieurs heures de route. Nous sommes toutes les deux très excitées de cette visite : nous sommes sur le point de découvrir le cœur de la tradition africaine-américaine du quilting.

Miss Nancy and some of her creations.

A l’intérieur, dans une salle sans prétention, des quilts sont pliés à la va-vite sur des tables et étagères en plastique. Nous sommes accueillies par “Miss Nancy” et “Miss Emma”, de leurs noms complets Nancy Pettway et Emma Pettway. Toutes deux sont membres du Gee’s Bend Quilters Collective. Les quilts sont des sortes de patchworks faits de bouts de vêtements et autres chutes de tissus, pour les recycler en objets utiles et jolis, comme des couvertures.

Dans cette petite communauté, les femmes fabriquent des quilts depuis plus d’un siècle, dans une tradition passée de génération en génération. Chaque quilt est unique et chaque quilter a son propre style. Avec beaucoup d’humour et une humilité émouvante, Miss Nancy et Miss Emma nous parlent de leur vies, de la fabrication de quilts, du fait d’avoir vu leur pratique et tradition reconnues au rang d’art.

Isolé, au fin fond de l’Alabama rural et pauvre, Gee’s Bend a longtemps été délaissé et ignoré par le reste du pays. La plupart de ses habitant.e.s sont des descendant.e.s d’esclaves de la plantation du village, celle des Pettway. De nombreuses quilters du collectif, comme Miss Nancy et Miss Emma, portent d’ailleurs toujours ce nom. Ici, le taux de pauvreté frôle les 60 %.

Mais en 2002, « découverts » par un collectionneur d’art, les quilts de Gee’s Bend connaissent une notoriété internationale. « Des œuvres parmi les plus extraordinaires de l’art moderne aux Etats-Unis » – c’est ainsi que le New York Times les qualifie alors. Aujourd’hui, des quilts de Gee’s Bend sont exposés dans les plus prestigieux musées du pays.

Miss Emma, and one of her famous « Pig in the Pen » design. This one sold the day we visited ($1,500)/

Pourtant, ici, pendant que nous discutons avec ces deux artistes, mon amie et moi-même parcourons la pièce, dépliant tour à tour les magnifiques quilts à notre portée. C’est un sentiment étrange et précieux de pouvoir ainsi toucher de véritables œuvres d’art, comme si de rien n’était !

Certains sont de véritables chef-d’œuvres. Chacun est signé, et accompagné d’une étiquette écrite de la main de sa créatrice, avec son titre, l’année, le nom de la quilter et le prix. Les prix vont de 200$ à plus de 15,000$, et sont fixés par les créatrices elles-mêmes. 75 % sont reversés directement à l’artiste, le reste va au Collectif.

Alors, certes, je sais que Gee’s Bend est un gros détour, depuis à peu près n’importe où, mais si jamais vous êtes dans la région, ne ratez pas cette occasion de rencontrer les artistes de classe internationale, et femmes incroyables, joyeuses et drôles du Gee’s Bend Quilters Collective.

 

Pour aller plus loin :

Et pour faire quelques pas de plus

Cet article est un extrait de notre prochain guide de voyage, consacré aux Etats-Unis.

Vous avez envie d’en lire plus ? Nous avons besoin de vous pour le publier, soutenez-nous !

A lire aussi

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *